David’s Avatar Rant

18 Aug

As most movie fans already know, the teaser trailer for James Cameron’s Avatar goes live online in about a day and a half.  And, just like most other movie fans, I’m about to pee in my pants with excitement.  If you don’t know what all the fuss is about I suggest you head on over to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avatar(2009_film) and read up.  Basically, Cameron has said that this movie is going to revolutionize movie making.  He, apparently, invented new technology for the film that does things we hadn’t thought possible.  Things along the lines of 3D camera technology that simulates the way a real human eye sees its environment.  Obviously, I’m very excited about this.

So it was with great joy that I heard there was going to be a 15-minute free preview of Avatar showing in select theaters this Friday.  All I had to do was go to http://www.avatarmovie.com/ and reserve my ticket.  I had no worries about being in one of the select cities.  I live in Austin, TX.  People have movie premiers here; of course it will be a “select” city.  Well, guess what?  It’s not.  Dallas, Houston, and San Antonio are considered “select”, but Austin isn’t?  Come on.  James Cameron, have you ever been to Austin?  Do you understand how much people love movies here?  Have you ever heard of the Alamo Drafthouse?  The Paramount Theatre?  What is wrong with you?

I will still be going to see Avatar on December 18th.  And I’m still incredibly excited about the teaser trailer.  But I’m very disappointed in your judgment of cities, James Cameron.

Very disappointed,

david

One Response to “David’s Avatar Rant”

  1. Chris Berry August 18, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    It’s also playing in Knoxville and Nashville, but not Memphis.

Leave a Reply

