Top 5 Children’s Books That Need Movies/Top 5 Directing Choices For Those Movies

19 Aug

This is the first entry of what I can guarantee will be a major portion of this blog.  Lara will be introducing another regular feature on Friday, but for now let’s focus on the top 5 list.  Here at Lara And The Reel Boy, we love top 5 lists.  We talk about them constantly in our day-to-day lives, annoying our friends and family and driving potential employers away.  So, in an attempt to lessen the amount that they have to listen to, we will be putting some of what we consider the most important on here.  Or the most fun.  Or whatever the heck we feel like talking about.  It’s our blog, ok?

So this week’s list sprung from watching the newest Where The Wild Things Are trailer on Apple’s trailer website (if you haven’t seen it yet go to http://www.apple.com/trailers/wb/wherethewildthingsare/).  It made me wonder, what other children’s books would I love to see as movies?  This was immediately followed by, what directors would I be comfortable heading up these various projects?  Because, let’s be honest, if they announced Michel Gondry was doing a new adaptation of The Brave Little Tailor, or some other fairy tale, I would be very excited.  If Brett Ratner were announced I would be crying.  And they would not be tears of joy.

In compiling this list I decided to stick to picture books.  If you add in things like Lloyd Alexander’s Prydain Chronicles then there are way too many.  The key to any top 5 list is narrowing down.  So, without further ado, the list:

  1. The King’s Stilts, by: Dr. Seuss
  2. Bartholomew and the Ooblek, by: Dr. Seuss
  3. The Story of Babar, by: Jean de Brunhoff
  4. Gustav the Gourmet Giant, by: Steven Kellogg
  5. The Frog and Toad Treasury, by: Arnold Lobel

Let me give a few explanations.  I realize I put Dr. Seuss on the list twice, but in my mind he is twice as awesome as any other picture book writer.  Also, I understand that there are political aspects of the Babar stories that might make them slightly awkward today.  But I really just don’t care.  I will always love them.  Finally, The Frog and Toad Treasury is kind of cheating because its three books in one, but, if you combined them, they would be the perfect length for a movie.

Now the directors:

  1. Michel Gondry (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Science of Sleep)
  2. Terry Gilliam (12 Monkeys, Time Bandits, The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus)
  3. Spike Jonze (Where The Wild Things Are, Adaptation)
  4. Alfonso Cuaron (Children of Men, The Little Princess)
  5. Hayao Miyazaki (Ponyo, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle)

I actually have no preference for who does what.  I think they would all do any of those stories beautifully.  Now you all know my hopes and dreams.  And if Brett Ratner touches any of those books, I’ll have a breakdown.

2 Responses to “Top 5 Children’s Books That Need Movies/Top 5 Directing Choices For Those Movies”

  1. Desiree August 23, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    Frog and Toad are awesome! And did you see that they are making a movie of Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs? That’s one of my all-time favorite children’s books and it looks like it might be pretty good. So excited about Where the Wild Things Are of course.

    • cintussupremus August 26, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

      Yes! I love that book! Although I must admit I have my doubts about the movie…

      -Lara

Leave a Reply

