Top 5 Movie Pets/Monsters We Wish We Had

9 Sep

For this edition of the Top 5 List we decided to go with something a little more personal.  Everyone has watched a movie, seen an animal of some sort and thought, “Oh my gosh!  That’s so cute! I wish I had one of those!”  Well, Lara and I are no different.  We’ve both done the exact same thing countless times.  The difference for us is that those instances usually occurred during a science fiction movie.  Or a horror movie.  And we wanted the monster.  So this list is an attempt to narrow down all those fantasies into something a little more manageable.  A short, concise list to give the genie if we ever find him.

Lara’s List

keenser5. Keenser (unspecified alien), from Star Trek (2009 version). I really know nothing about Star Trek and even less about this little creature. I’m fairly sure he’s only in the new Star Trek installation, but that could be dead wrong seeing as it is the only film in the franchise that I have ever seen. Phew. That feels good to get off my chest. Moving on, this little alien is simultaneously hideous and adorable. When I first saw Scotty berate him I gasped in repulsed shock. However, the more he appeared at Scotty’s side the more I fell in love. And the second viewing of the film only intensified my devotion. If Keenser was mine I would never leave him behind on Delta Vega.

buckbeak4. Buckbeak (Hippogriff), from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. The only badass monster on my list. I’d be mostly terrified to own a Hippogriff, what with their pride issues and size, but I’d try my darndest to tame one because they are just so cool. And beautiful. Sure I wouldn’t be able to let Buckbeak in the house (wood floors and giant claws don’t exactly go together) but I doubt he’d mind, he can fly for goodness’ sake. And, yeah, I can’t keep good eye contact so I’d get a little scratched up, but I’d take the bruises because with them would come the ability to stroll down to the beach on the back of a horse eagle. And so what if I wouldn’t be able to utilize his gift of flight, seeing as I’m afraid of flying? I could get some hypnosis tapes to abate that… This is why I shouldn’t have any badass monsters on my list.

ewok3. Wicket or Romba (Ewoks), from Return of the Jedi, and The Ewok Adventure. Do I even need to say anything about Ewoks? They have bows and arrows, they throw awesome parties, they fly on hang gliders, AND they live in tree houses. Having one would be like being able to hang out with a Lost Boy all day, except less scary and more cuddly.

MAXREBO22. Max Rebo (Ortalon), from Return of the Jedi. I’ve always had an affinity with Max Rebo that I can’t quite explain. When I was little I would giggle with glee at the sight of him and then rewind the scene in which he appears over and over again. I called him the “Blue Piano Elephant.” And I loved him. How great it was to discover, as my dorkiness grew with age, that Ortalons not only make good musicians, but also great food foragers. I love food! I can just imagine Max Rebo and me forming some sort of electro-duo akin to Crystal Castles. Max on keyboards. Me on … I don’t know… I’d have to find a talent first… keyboards, too? Vocals? Tambourine? We’d figure it out. We’d kick ass. And Max would always be able to sniff out the best restaurants at which to have the after party.

mogwai1. Gizmo (Mogwai), from Gremlins and Gremlins 2: The New Batch. Gizmo is the most precious creature to ever grace the silver screen. I absolutely adore him. He’s got big eyes, big ears, snuggly fur, and a sweet song. Come to think of it, he could collaborate with me and Max Rebo, providing vocals and keyboards, but we would have to perform really early so he could still snack after the show without gremlins bubbling out of his back. Talk about party foul!

David’s List

Tauntaun

5.  A Tauntaun, from The Empire Strikes Back.  Who hasn’t wanted to ride one of these things since they first saw the movie?  They look like they would be awesome.  Just imagine riding up next to someone who was on a horse.  Don’t worry.  A Tauntaun can keep up.  The dude on the horse would feel so inferior.  It would be awesome.

tinkerbell

4.  Tinkerbell, from Peter Pan.  I’m slightly embarrassed about this one.  Does this make me less of a man?  Maybe? But let’s be honest.  Peter Pan was a man.  Or a boy.  Whatever.  And she was his pet.  She was awesome.  I could fly if I wanted to.  There’s a strong chance she would save my life from poison or a bomb, depending on what version of the movie it was.  Plus, she’s just so darn cute.

sandworm

3.  A Sandworm, from Dune.  I know this one is slightly ridiculous.  Look at how big it is in that picture.  Those tiny bumps on top of it are people.  I would have to live in a desert to keep it.  And its possible that it could kill everyone that came to visit me.  But I am willing to take that chance.  David Lynch hates his film version of Frank Herbert’s classic book, but it’s worth watching just for the sandworm scenes.  I actually really like the movie, and will probably focus on it in a Cult Classics at some point, but my very favorite parts are the sandworms.  I will always dream of riding one into a battle and watching it devour my enemies.

thing

2.  Thing, from The Addams Family and Addams Family Values.  A hyper-intelligent, disembodied hand that runs around the house doing chores and playing games with you.  What could be better than that?  I would even take up golf if I had my own Thing.  It would be awesome to see everyone’s faces when it held the ball up for you.  Plus, it can sword fight.

totoro

1.  Totoro, from My Neighbor Totoro.  Totoro is the one creature that I still want a stuffed animal of.  He’s so adorable.  And he roars.  And he can fly.  And he can make whole forests grow up in a single night.  And he can call a cat bus for you to ride around in.  If you don’t want to ride around in a cat bus, you’re crazy and I pity you.

So those are our lists.  Feel free to leave your own in the comments.  Mitch had some good ideas last week.

5 Responses to “Top 5 Movie Pets/Monsters We Wish We Had”

  1. Joey Strawn September 9, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    I’m loving the site guys! Anyway, I thought I had to input my two-cents on this list (my favorite so far).

    My 5 creatures/pets are as follows:

    5. Gizmo – cause, well….come on.
    4. E.T. – who doesn’t want an alien who can heal wounds and run up extremely high long-distance bills.
    3. Tigger – yep, I said it.
    2. Yoda – adorable, yet powerful, the perfect combo.
    1. Kermit the Frog – does he count? He has to, what would be better than playing banjo with Kermit and relishing in the joys of doing nothing.

    • iamhrothgar September 9, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

      Damn. I didn’t even think of any of the Muppets. Good call Joey. Good call.

  2. Brent September 10, 2009 at 1:35 am #

    Oooooh… I love this post most.

    I have to say that David’s list beats Lara’s in my book. Because a sandworm, if somehow it obeyed you (not seen Dune… does that happen.. how are they up there?), would be awesome. Because Tinkerbell makes you fly and turns into Julia Roberts in an I’m-in-love-with-you kind of way. And because Thing is an f-ing severed hand who does chores, rides a skateboard, and has a sense of humor.

    My five… oooh… I think I’m going to make my own post on this. I will give you credit!!! But I just love this too much.

  3. Brent September 10, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    shoot… the link to my blog was wrong.
    breadtobeeaten.blogspot.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. monster matchmaker « bread to be eaten - October 3, 2011

    […] go read their original recent post at Lara and the Reel Boy. It reminded me why I really like those two people. And it made me want to share my own list of 6. […]

Leave a Reply

