The Muppets Celebrate Jim Henson

12 Nov

My friend Tiffany called me this weekend to tell me something very important. She was all in a tizzy over a video she had just watched on youtube. Between all the high frequencies and crying sounds I was able to decipher the words “Jim Henson,” “Steven Spielberg,” and “Fozzie Bear coping with death” – so I was immediately sold and went to youtube to find this gem.

I’m so glad I did because the video she had informed me about was “The Muppets Celebrate Jim Henson,” a one hour tribute special that was made nineteen years ago this month to remember Muppet Master, Jim Henson, who had died earlier that year. At the start of the program, Fozzie Bear receives a letter from Kermit, who asks him to make a musical number extravaganza for Jim Henson. The only problem is that none of the Muppets know who Jim Henson is! The Muppets try to find out more about this Jim fellow through a series of silliness and puns and celebrity appearances.

Jim and His Muppets

Jim and His Muppets

So in my attempt to honor the genius of Jim Henson, whose brainchild Sesame Street turned forty years old this week, I have decided that it is my duty to direct all of you readers to this video series. If you’re anything like me you’ll find it both hilarious and informative. And you might cry a little. Okay, you might cry a lot.

Pt 1

Pt 2

Pt 3

Pt 4

Pt 5

Wishing I was friends with Gonzo,

Lara

One Response to “The Muppets Celebrate Jim Henson”

  1. Brent November 13, 2009 at 1:12 am #

    You KNOW I want so badly to watch this. So so badly. but it takes one million years to load youtube videos here. i’m going to have to wait… possibly a long time. But i WILL be watching it. I weep just at the thought.

    (I was moved even at the collection of Sesame Street stuff aired on NPR’s Fresh Air for the 40th. I chose the wrong field….)

Leave a Reply

