New York, Je T’aime

17 Nov

Today I, Lara (of Lara and The Reel Boy), am going for my very first time to New York City (of New York). Yes, it’s true; the farthest east I’ve ever gotten within these fine United States is Louisiana, which, as much as it tries, just doesn’t really fit with my picture of New England. Call me crazy. Needless to say, I feel that my upcoming adventures in the Big Apple are long overdue. And while I’m excited to see the Many Sights the city has to offer; The Empire State Building, The Statue of Liberty, angry people of every race and culture, what I’m most looking forward to is Reliving Movie Moments. Surprising, I know. Here’s my list so far.

What I’m going to do in NYC:

  • Same old sightseeing stuff and nonsense
  • You’ve Got Mail tour: H&H, Zabar’s, Café Lalo, the docks, Starbucks (where I will promptly order a tall decaf cappuccino), Gray’s Papayas, and maybe The Shop Around the Corner. In my dreams.
  • Go to The Plaza. First act like Eloise by going up and down every elevator, running my stick along the walls of the halls, and saying everything three times just like Nanny. Then leave said Plaza and, on the steps, eat my “very own cheese pizza,” which, in the cold atmosphere, will emit a sort of misty steam when I open the box. I will annoy my friends by repeating, in my very best Kevin McCallister voice, “A lovely cheese pizza, just for me,” which I realize is technically a quote from the first film, but I will make up for it by giving her a turtledove ornament to a crazy, pigeon-covered homeless lady.
  • Have a really pretentious conversation while walking throughout the New York streets, in the way of Annie Hall every Woody Allen movie.
  • Find Sesame Street.

Lost in New York

My list is pretty pathetic. That’s why I’m asking for your help. Please give me suggestions for more movie things to do in New York City. Leave comments below giving some great ideas and I’ll try my best to do them and write a segment about my adventures next week upon my return. Oh and if you’ve got any for Washington, D.C., I’ll take them, too, because I’m ending my week with two days there. But I crossed out every movie idea I’d had so far on that list because I don’t want to deal with alien invasions or plotting to steal The Declaration of Independence.

Off to buy a bouquet of sharpened pencils,
Lara

4 Responses to “New York, Je T’aime”

  1. Louisa November 17, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Hoorah for New York! I went there for the first time in January. My favorite movie to reenact there was Godspell. Go to the fountain with the angel in Central Park, submerge yourself in the water (if it’s not too cold), and yell “Prepare ye the way of the Lord!”

    Louisa

  2. Susan November 17, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    Lara! I don’t have any improvements to suggest for your list (although if I did, they would involve Chuck Bass). But I wish I could do the You’ve Got Mail tour and the pretentious conversations part with you.

    On second thought, maybe I’ll just hop a flight from Seattle to New York right now. Meet me at the top of the Empire State Building?

  3. sharon mckendrick November 17, 2009 at 10:18 pm #

    you forgot ghostwriter!
    i think that would just mean going to brooklyn, not quite sure.

    p.s. love the picture. you make a GREAT kevin.

  4. brent November 18, 2009 at 3:22 am #

    Lamo, your list is pathetic. But that’s why you have me. Of course, the very best thing to do is find everything you can involving You’ve Got Mail, because the charm in that movie is just too wonderful. You must also go to Serendipity 3. You will be told you must have the Frozzzzzen Hot Chocolate. But this is a mistake. I learned this after tasting Tiffany’s Hot Fudge Sundae. THAT is the real treasure. The hot fudge is seriously amazing. I wish I could do that over again. What a marketing victim I am (of course, how do you market a Hot Fudge Sundae?).

    But after you do You’ve Got Mailings, eat the hot fudge, etc, please do these things:

    1. While at the Plaza, don’t forget to tell them your name is Emily Rugburn, take some qualudes and have a charming fifteen year old kiss your limp body before they pump your stomach.
    2.You can stop on over at 144th Street & Convent Avenue in Harlem and see if Mordecai is still flapping around up there. Then take your grandsons and hop on the back of a fire truck.
    3. After thinking of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Oooze, I might suggest you find the decommissioned City Hall Station which was the inspiration for the subway station/new home of the gang. Have more pizza here.
    4. Clearly, go to ground zero. Obvious significance acknowledged, also keep in mind that MANY movies will include this site in the future, and wish that you could have been at the top of the towers when Philippe Petit walked between them. (And if you haven’t seen Man on Wire, do so immediately. It may be something to watch during your trip even…)
    5. Go to Madison Square Gardens. Acknowledge all the “game” scenes featured there. But really just wish that you could discover tons of godzilla eggs on the floor, and spur the sequel, “Godzilla Re-burns (california town name)” by taking one home. Imagine all the people there as festering monster eggs. Delight.
    6. Go to the Museum of Natural History… imagine all the displays filled with tiny actors… imagine Robin Williams riding in on a horse… imagine that HUGE blue whale wiggling around until it drops with a flop to the floor and dies (they didn’t put that in the movie for obvious reasons).
    7. Go to the New York Public Library. Peek at the Gutenburg Bible. But IMMEDIATELY move on to the case holding the original Winnie, Eeyore, Piglet, etc. Weep at the significance. Sing “I’m just a little black rain cloud” upon exiting.
    8. That’s the best I can do on my own. But visit http://www.screentours.com/ for more ideas.
    9. Oh… wait… and when you get to La Guardia, grab your bag off the baggage claim dealy, look straight ahead and yell, “KEVIN!”

Leave a Reply

