Top 5 Non-Disney Animated Musical Sequences

18 Nov

This will be the conclusion to our musical Top 5 Lists.  Thank you again to Joey Strawn for giving us this idea in the first place.  I want to remind everyone that if you have any idea for a Top 5 List send it to us along with your list, and if we do it we’ll give you credit and post your list to kick it off.

For this final list, we decided to go back to animation, but this time it’s non-Disney animation.  There were just too many classics being left out when we kept it to Disney.  So, without further ado, the lists are as follows:

Lara’s List

5. “Maybe Love” from Jetsons: The Movie

A song with the sound and vibe of the late 1980s/early 1990s, yet with the technology of 2062. It is truly a force to be reckoned with. Cosmic Cosmo is SO retro. And J-J-Judy is SO lucky, delayed reactions et. al.

4. “We’re A Couple of Misfits” from Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

I’d like to think this song really taught me something as a child. I definitely could have used it, being the awkward little Tom Boy misfit that I was, but I think I solely appreciated it on a look-at-those-Christmas-claymation-people-dance-around level. Still, finding meaning in the lyrics or not, this song has both the good tidings and cheer of Christmas and of accepting who you are. And there’s an elf who wants to be a dentist.

3. “Somewhere Out There” from An American Tail

I haven’t seen this movie in a long time. I have slightly painful memories attached to it, due to the tragic nature of the film, as well as recollections from when I first moved to the States and referred to the little mouse as “Feevel,” as he was called in the Portuguese version I had grown up watching, and was mocked endlessly by other children. Still, it’s kept a special tiny, slightly broken segment of my heart for years. I wasn’t sure whether to put this song on the list, seeing as I hadn’t seen it in such a long time, but within twenty seconds of starting the clip I began to cry. I take that as a pretty big indicator that this song means a lot to me, even when taken completely out of context. This song has the beauty of a lullaby, the forlornness of family separation, and the adorability of a child who has obviously never had any voice lessons in his life.

2. “Deliver Us” from The Prince of Egypt

Epic. So very epic. I remember seeing this in the theater as an eleven year old and being in complete and utter awe. I remember any time my roommate and I felt guilty for skipping church our sophomore year of college we would watch this movie. It was our Communion. And this song was the most badass opening hymn ever.

1. “Christmas Time Is Here” from A Charlie Brown Christmas

My favorite Christmas song. Nothing I write will do it justice, for it is the song that epitomizes Christmas, in my book. I can’t even watch this video yet, because it would break my no-watching-anything-Christmas-related-until-after-Thanksgiving rule, but I still needed to give credit where credit is more than due. “Christmas time is here. Happiness and cheer. Fun for all that children call their favorite time of year”—I can’t go any further. It’s not Thanksgiving yet.

David’s List

5. “Once Upon A December” from Anastasia

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Anastasia is amazing.  I didn’t see this as a child.  I’m not sure if it was after my time slightly, or what.  But I didn’t end up seeing this until I was well into college.  I did not have very high hopes for it either.  When I finally broke down and watched it though, I loved it.  I should have known just by the fact that Don Bluth directed it that it would be great, but I was young and foolish.  Anyway, I think this is one of the most songs in the movie, and not just the music.  The imagery is breathtaking.

4.  “Let’s Make Music Together” from All Dogs Go To Heaven

Another Don Bluth masterpiece, All Dogs Go To Heaven used to scare the crap out of me.  I’m not sure what it was exactly, the imagery, Burt Reynolds voice, or the subject matter, but something in there terrified me.  However, that fear wasn’t enough to keep me from watching it over and over.  This song is the main reason I kept going back.  There’s just something about a gigantic voodoo crocodile that lives in the sewers and sings opera, all while being worshipped by an anthropomorphic voodoo tribe that captures a child’s imagination.  Who knows how these things work?

3.  The Entire Movie of Heavy Metal

I don’t want it to seem like I’m recommending this movie by putting it in a Top 5 List.  It is definitely worth seeing, but its pretty awful.  You have to know that going in.  I mean really you can see the content by watching the trailer above.  Its chock full of animated sex and violence. But putting all that could be offensive about Heavy Metal aside, it’s totally awesome.  Its two hours of fantasy and sci-fi cartoons set to early metal music.  We’ve got Cheap Trick, Blue Oyster Cult, Devo, Black Sabbath, and many others.  It is truly one of the most bizarre films I have ever seen.  But there’s something great about that.

2. “There Are No Cats In America” from An American Tail

Once again we have a Don Bluth movie, quite an impressive filmmaker if I do say so myself.  Anyway, I love this movie, and I really love this song.  It’s like it was taken straight out of Fiddler on the Roof.  I totally forget that these are mice seeing for a few seconds.  Then Papa says something about cats stepping on a relative and I’m brought back to reality.  How great is that?

1. “Mr. Grinch” from Dr. Seuss’s How The Grinch Stole Christmas

Weird how both of these lists had a Christmas song as the number 1 choice.  I wonder if that says something about us as people, or if it’s just that it’s getting to be that time of year.  Who knows.  I do know that this movie is incredible.  It’s one of those precious films that I can watch over and over without ever getting tired of.  Part of it is the story, I love everything by Dr. Seuss.  Part of it is the narration of Boris Karloff.  A huge part of it is the animation, I think it looks absolutely beautiful, like the old Looney Tunes shorts.  And part of it is this song.  This is as much a Christmas song to me and “Jingle Bells” and “Silent Night”.  There might be something wrong with that, but I really don’t care.

Sound off in the comments.

One Response to “Top 5 Non-Disney Animated Musical Sequences”

  1. Val November 18, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    Great lists all around! LOVE the bits about Anastasia and An American Tail!

    “I can’t go any further. It’s not Thanksgiving yet.”

    AGREED!!!!!!!!! I keep averting my eyes and plugging my ears when I see/hear Christmas stuff. It’s not time yet!!!!

    My list would have to include:

    -“Girls of Rock and Roll” from the Chipmunk Movie. One of the most formative movies of my childhood! I used to sing this song to myself when I ran out to the swings in kindergarten/first grade thinking I was SO bad ass.

    -“Journey to the Past” from Anastasia. Just a great song, and her voice is completely a-maz-ing.

    I’ll let you know if I think of any more….

Leave a Reply

