Please Put This On DVD: Little Spies

24 Nov

There are certain movies that you watch over and over again as a child.  There’s just something about them that grabs hold of a piece of your brain and won’t let go.  When you’re that young you can’t explain it.  There’s no analyzing what intrigues you about certain films.  But there are specific movies that we all remember loving more than the rest.  For me, that movie was Little Spies

Little Spies was a TV movie that was broadcast on The Wonderful World of Disney in 1986.  I probably didn’t see it then.  I don’t think I would remember it.  But someone recorded it that night and I eventually got a hold of it.  I watched this movie at least once a week for years.  I mean it was right up there with Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.

In case you don’t remember it as well I do, let me give you a little refresher.  Our heroes are a group of neighborhood kids who have the coolest hideout ever.  Since they’re kind of like a little club, they end of adopting a stray dog as a mascot.  The action starts heating up when an evil, rival gang of kids begins kidnapping dogs for a local animal shelter.  The owner of the shelter secretly sells the dogs for medical experiments.  When the club mascot gets stolen and taken to the shelter, the only thing left to do is get the old World War II spy who lives up the street to train them commando style so they can go break into the shelter and rescue all the dogs.

How awesome is that?  That’s the perfect plot for a kid’s movie.  In fact, it is almost the exact same plot as the first Beethoven movie, which came out six years later.  Coincidence?  Probably, because hardly anyone remembers Little Spies.  But I ask you, if Beethoven was popular enough to spawn five sequels and an animated series, why not put this out too?  It’s almost the exact same thing, but combined with The Goonies.  Plus Mickey Rooney is the retired army spy.  Mickey Rooney.  Who doesn’t love that guy?

This film has never been released in the U.S.  Not even on VHS.  There are some VHS copies floating around out there, but they’re all from Europe.  I don’t understand the lack on interest in this family classic.  No one seems to remember it.  In fact, the only picture I could even find of it is this:

Who is that?  I don’t even remember that guy.  I do remember that there is this awesome scene where the kids are caught in a net and the only way out is to fly a remote controlled helicopter into the rope holding them up.  I also remember that they plan their attack using a model of the animal shelter made out of LEGOS.  Pretty cool.

But that’s it.  That’s all we have.  A couple of random memories and a picture of fat kid that no one even remembers.  Please release this so I can experience it again.  I would pay big bucks for a Twentieth Fifth Anniversary Edition come 2011.

still planning out my spy outfit twenty years later,

David

3 Responses to “Please Put This On DVD: Little Spies”

  1. Bo February 17, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I am right there with you. This was one of the Disney films I remember most from my childhood. I’ve recently found a DVD copy in Europe for about $25USD. Here is the link:
    http://www.sealvideo.co.uk/Little%20spies.htm
    I haven’t bought it here yet because I’d rather spend the $25 on a DVD or BluRay from Disney (which would be awesome!).
    We have to spread the word so that Disney puts this classic on DVD/BluRay!

  2. Glenn March 26, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    I love this movie too. I live in Australia and grew up with it. Lucky enough to get a good copy on VHS! The kid in the photo is Wendell. The food obsessed fat kid who saves the day in his mums made Halloween costume. Really weird that no one knows this film. But that’s also what makes it far more special!!

  3. Lynn May 7, 2012 at 4:36 am #

    Here in France this is the same ! My and my friends are keeping a real awesome memory with this movie ! Please edit it !!!!! I’ll give my kidney just to have it :p

Leave a Reply

