Happy Thanksgiving! Top Five Movie Things We’re Thankful For

26 Nov

Happy Thanksgiving from Lara and the Reel Boy! We hope you don’t burn the turkey, that you enjoy the transition into Christmas (yes, Christmas movies here I come!), and that you can reflect on many things that you are thankful for. Here are our Top Five Movie Things we are thankful for from this last year.

David’s List (Dictated through the phone).

5. Andrew Stanton, director of Finding Nemo and Wall-E is in pre-production for his first live action movie. And it’s John Carter of Mars. Awesome all around.

John Carter of Mars

4.  Saw VI didn’t do very well at the box office. Hopefully that means that they’ll stop making them.

The only picture for Saw VI that didn't have random body parts on a plate.

3.    Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus is coming out this year.

Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus

2. Star Trek didn’t suck.

Star Trek

1.  Warhammer 40k is being turned into a movie, Ultramarines. Just hoping it doesn’t go straight to DVD.

Ultramarines

Lara’s List

5. Tintin has finished filming! Which means that, with all of the CG to add in, it will be released in December of 2011!  I’ve waited fifteen years for this movie to exist, so I think I can wait two more.

Pete, Steven, and Tintin. My three favorite people in one picture.

4. Inglourious Basterds was worth the wait.

Inglourious Basterds

3. Being able to recreate all of my favorite New York film moments. Except I didn’t have any back up dancers as I sang “King of New York” in the streets. Okay, I didn’t actually sing “King of New York” in the streets, seeing as I didn’t want to get yelled at by one of those famous angry cab drivers. I also didn’t want to get mugged. But besides that I fulfilled all of my New York movie fancies. You’ll hear more about that next week.

Newsies (what I couldn't do)

2. Sam Raimi’s return to horror.

Drag Me To Hell

1. Duncan Jones, whose directorial debut Moon might be my favorite film of this year, has announced that his next project, Mute, will also star Sam Rockwell and it will be like Blade Runner in Berlin. What more is there to be thankful for?

Concept Art from Mute

Leave a Reply

