Christmas Day Preparation

7 Dec

When I was growing up, I always looked forward to Christmas Day.  I mean, I think that’s kind of obvious.  We all did.  But for me, it wasn’t just about the presents.  That was definitely part of it.  I loved getting a brand new package of Muscle Men (remember those?) or Dino-Riders.  But after present opening time was over, and all the Christmas rolls were eaten, most of the extended family would just sit around  napping.  It was then that the other thing I was looked forward to would happen.  I would get to go see a movie with my Dad, my Uncle Art, and possibly the rest of the family.  But it would always be Dad and Uncle Art.  I saw many Disney movies this way.  I also saw several Star Trek films on the night of Christ’s birth.  By the time I was in high school it had turned into a small sci-fi outing every year.  And I loved it.  I’ve always loved going to the movies.  Since I was a child, I’ve thought there was something magical about seeing a film in a theater that you just can’t quite capture in a home.  And Christmas was the one day a year that I could count on going to the theater.  Sure, I went other times during the year, but I went on Christmas Day EVERY year.  And I always looked forward to it.

Now, I’m older.  I’m not getting to spend Christmas Day  with my extended family.  Thus, there will not be a ritual outing to see whatever sci-fi movie comes out on that day.  I’ve kind of bummed about it.  But I’m thinking that I’m not the only person with this family tradition.  I am going to attempt to go with my wife this year.  Unless I’m working.  We’ll carry on by ourselves.  But that means I’m not going to my uncle’s choice.  I have to pick this year.  So I’m going to post the trailers of the movies I will be deciding between if I am able to go to a movie on Christmas Day.  This is my way of narrowing it down.  And maybe it will help you if are lucky enough to enjoy this same tradition.

Leaves of Grass

This looks like Edward Norton’s version of Adaptation.  But I think that’s a great idea.  I love both things involved in that.  Norton plays a psychiatrist and his pot dealing twin brother.  And they have wild misadventures and everyone gets really confused about who is who.  I think it could be good.  Warning: This trailer has bad language in it.

Sherlock Holmes

I think this is going to be silly.  I know it is.  But I think it looks like a lot of fun too.  Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, and Rachel McAdams are people that can get me into a movie simply because they are in it.  Guy Ritchie can be an awesome director.  He can also be a little over the top.  And while I’m fully confident that this will be over the top, I think it might be really fun the whole time.

Up In The Air

I think this could be one of the best movies of the year.  It looks fantastic.  It’s got a great director in Jason Reitman, and George Clooney is very rarely bad.  But beyond the people that made it, it just looks good.  The story looks interesting.  The characters look like real people.  I’m very excited about this one.

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus

I’ve already seen this.  I’ve already posted a review of it, in fact.  And I loved it so much that I am thinking about going to see it again on Christmas Day.  A new Terry Gilliam movie!  An all star cast!  The craziest visuals since Brazil!  I will definitely see this again, it’s just a question of whether or not it will be on opening day.

Nine

I did not like Chicago.  I also saw it when I was much more immature and should probably see it again.  But all thoughts and feelings of Chicago aside, Nine looks awesome.  Daniel Day-Lewis can do no wrong.  And while the rest of the cast can, I don’t think they are here.  I realize this trailer says it comes out in November, but it doesn’t.  It comes out on Christmas.

completely conflicted,

David

One Response to “Christmas Day Preparation”

  1. iamhrothgar December 8, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    Sherlock Holmes matinee; then, Up in the Air. Bueno.

    Love,
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

