The Sorcerer’s Apprentice Trailer and Frustrated Feelings it Brings About

9 Dec

There is a serious lack of originality in Hollywood right now. Studios keep buying up franchises that are completely lacking any foundation in hopes of getting more viewers and higher box office numbers. First we saw it with a couple of toys, a Transformer here, a G.I. Joe there, but in the next couple of years you can expect almost all of the blockbusters coming to theaters near you to be based on board games (Battleship, Monopoly, Candy Land) and remakes of old movies or TV shows (Yellow Submarine, The Avengers, The Smurfs).

Perhaps I shouldn’t call it a “lack of originality,” for what these over-paid, uninspired screenwriters are able to fabricate with the most simple plots (or toys) is far beyond me. Who would have thought that little pegs on a grid would one day make a Roland Emmerichesque movie about a war between aliens and battleships? (Yes, that is the plot that has been released for Battleship). The closest my thoughts got to alien-kind when monotonously uttering different letter/number combinations as a kid was when either my opponent or I guessed “E2,” which could almost sound like E.T. But that might be a bit of a stretch. Something Jerry Bruckheimer knows all about.

Bruckheimer’s latest movie–wait, I don’t know if I can call it his latest movie, seeing as he’s constantly producing at least three films at once, I’ll just say his movie that had the most recent information released about it– is The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, starring Nicholas Cage as the sorcerer and Jay Baruchel as the apprentice. Here is the trailer that was released today:

Looks like fun, right? I mean, even though the trailer should have ended about thirty seconds earlier, the movie itself looks like a very enjoyable watch. My only problem with it is the fact that it is claiming to be based off of the short of the same name from the movie Fantasia. I don’t know about you, but I didn’t see any mice or brooms or starry wizard hats, which are the essential characteristics that come to my mind when I think of the original cartoon. If you can’t remember, this should jog your memory.

See any similarities between the two videos? I honestly don’t. I would appreciate any comments that might debate this issue, for I am ready to be excited for this movie. Like I said before, it looks like an entertaining, cheesy adventure film on par with National Treasure (the first one) and maybe even Pirates of the Caribbean (once again, the first one), it just peeves me off that it is claiming the name of a completely unrelated movie in order to, I don’t know, get the massive amount of fans of the cartoon to blindly buy tickets. Is there really that high of a demand for it? Are there fanatics of Fantasia I just don’t know about? Wouldn’t this movie do just as well without the association and title? I, personally, would be far more interested if it wasn’t so pathetically trying to bank off of a past Disney victory.

What do you think? Does the adaptation excite you or worry you? Or does it really make no difference because it’s just a simple Jon Turtletaub blockbuster and I’m making much too much of it? Feel free to discuss.

Too frazzled for my own good,

Lara

One Response to “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice Trailer and Frustrated Feelings it Brings About”

  1. Canada Chris December 9, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    IT’S RANTING TIME!

    First of all:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sorcerer%27s_Apprentice

    So they’re both based on a German poem from 1797. Why? Because this work is now in the public domain and can be used/modified by anyone. Hollywood movies, being more business than art, would prefer to crib (read: steal) from proven successes rather than attempt to create something new and risky that might not make their money back (that said, there’s always the possibility this could still bomb).

    However, what really gets me is that it’s these same companies that use material from the public domain that KEEP EXTENDING COPYRIGHT durations! Disney is one of the worst…just look at Snow White, Cinderella, Aladdin, Sleeping Beauty, The Little Mermaid and all the other success they’ve had using freely available material, and yet, whenever Mickey is about to go into the public domain, copyright laws magically get extended again:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steamboat_Willie#Copyright

    So these people that have made millions of dollars based on the creative output of others refuse to let their own creative output be used in the same way. Talk about selfishness and greed!

Leave a Reply

