What is wrong with you? A Death at a Funeral remake?

14 Dec

A Death at a Funeral remake?  Who decided this was a good idea?  I really want to know.  I think it’s important that there is a name on which I can pile all of my frustration and anger.  This is quite possibly the worst idea I have heard in the last year.  And I need to know who decided it was a good idea so I can yell at a specific name, and not out into the void.  That accomplishes nothing.  And while yelling at a specific person that I do not know, and will probably never meet, also accomplishes nothing, it gives me the illusion of making some sort of difference.

If you are at all confused by my rage over this movie, perhaps you have not seen the original Death at a Funeral.  In that case, my rage will momentarily shift to you, and I will shout at you.  It’s a fantastic movie.  The always amazing Frank Oz directed it.  The cast is made up of the all the best Great Britain has to offer, plus a few choice American additions.  And the script is absolutely amazing.  I think it’s one the best comedies to come out in the last ten years.  I love it.

The remake is directed by Neil LaBute.  He had some critical success early on in his career with In the Company of Men and Your Friends and Neighbors.  But let’s look at his last couple of attempts at film making.  Lakeview Terrace and the remake of the horror classic The Wicker Man.  Really?  And now he’s remaking another classic?  You would think he would have learned his lesson.  I had at least hoped he had learned his lesson.

The original Death at a Funeral is seriously one of the funniest movies I have ever seen.  The remake doesn’t look funny at all.  Every single scene in the trailer is a less funny version of a joke from the original.  They’re the exact same jokes.  All of them.  Only with different people that are not as funny while making them.  It’s heartbreaking to watch.  If you think the trailer is funny, it’s because you haven’t seen the original.  Please watch it before you make any judgment calls.

Here’s the thing.  You might be wondering why I’m so upset over a remake.  They happen all the time.  I know.  But this one came out in 2007.  They’re not putting a new spin on a classic movie and making all the jokes relevant to our times.  They’re simply having Chris Rock and Martin Lawrence tell the exact same jokes.  I can’t even explain to you how awful I think this movie looks.

Here’s the trailer for the original.

Here’s the trailer for the remake.  Watch it if you want to. Note how much they stole and botched. Please see the original if you haven’t already.

One more thing.  Danny Glover and Luke Wilson.  Why would you do this?  You’re better than this.  Come on.

slightly throwing up,

david

P.S. Here’s the original poster:

2 Responses to “What is wrong with you? A Death at a Funeral remake?”

  1. Adam December 14, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Repulsive. I can’t believe this! Thanks for the great reviews and news of wrongdoings such as these.

  2. Nicolas Acosta December 15, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    This actually looks funnier to me than the original. Maybe I just didn’t get the original.

Leave a Reply

