Top 5 Christmas Movies

17 Dec

We realize it’s kind of a cop out to do a Top 5 Christmas List and make it simply the top five Christmas films.  We know.  We should have done any number of other, more clever variations on the theme.  And we will.  We promise.  You might even get one next week.  But this is important.  This is our first Christmas here at Lara And The Reel Boy, and it’s important to put your top Christmas films out there.  Those are defining  films.  Someone’s favorite Christmas films can say a lot about them.  So unoriginality aside, this is an important list to do.  We seriously hope that all of you who read this feel the same way and you leave your own list in the comments.

Lara’s List

5. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

It’s okay to be different as long as your oddity is helpful. Otherwise, get out of here, you misfit.

4. The Santa Clause

The one good Tim Allen movie. The perfect nineties family film: sarcastic divorcee comments, a super obnoxious child, awkward jeans, Compact Disc players, and it is packed full of disappointing dad moments.

3. While You Were Sleeping

One of maybe five romantic comedies that I actually love. This is truly a Morgan classic. Bill Pullman under the mistletoe is just about everything anyone could ever hope for in a movie.

2. A Charlie Brown Christmas

A Charlie Brown Christmas! Children singing, Charlie Brown depressed, crappy Christmas trees, Peanuts dancing, and lessons taught by Linus – this is the most wonderful Christmas cartoon. And this movie has the best voice acting of all time.

1. Home Alone/Home Alone 2

This movie has it all. Want to see a bunch of guys get hit in the groin? You got it. Want to feel Christmas goosebumps when seeing an old man reunite with his granddaughter with John Williams overture? You got it double check. Well done, Chris, Macaulay, Catherine, John and John. I love you.

David’s List

5. Love Actually

Yes, it’s a little cheesy.  I will admit that.  But that’s what we all want when we watch it.  I want to see Hugh Grant as the greatest Prime Minister of all time.  I want to see Liam Neeson get the woman he truly deserves.  I love watching every character in this movie experience love in one way or another.  Even the truly cheesy ways.

4. A Christmas Story

We all kind of feel like we had a childhood similar to this one after we see this movie.  I can’t really explain it.  My father never had a lamp that looked like a leg.  I never wanted a bee-bee gun.  And I had a younger sister, not a younger brother.  But somehow, after you’ve watched this film, the events become a part of your childhood.  You remember them like you remember your own past.  That’s truly movie magic right there.

3. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

I think this is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen.  I’ve thought that since I was a young boy, and I will most likely continue thinking it for years to come.  However, as I’ve gotten older, the scenes I find the most funny have changed.  As a boy I loved the part where they go sledding and Chevy Chase’s sled is waxed so that it achieves speeds similar to a fighter jet.  Now my favorite scene is the one where Chevy Chase explodes and curses at everyone.  Or the squirrel.  I’ll always love the squirrel.

2. It’s A Wonderful Life

This is an amazing movie.  If you don’t like it then you probably haven’t watched it since you were a small child and your parents made you watch it.  I thought it was very boring then.  Now, I know how foolish I was.  I think this is one of the greatest movies ever made.

1. Dr. Seuss’ How The Grinch Stole Christmas

How does something top “one of the greatest movies ever made” on a top five list?  By being a Dr. Seuss story.  By having Boris Karloff narrate.  By having several of the greatest animated sequences ever all in one movie.  And by being so overwhelmingly heartwarming.

3 Responses to “Top 5 Christmas Movies”

  1. Val December 17, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    “The one good Tim Allen movie.”

    But excuse me, “Galaxy Quest” and I would like to take issue with this outrageous statement. Also, I can’t believe you didn’t mention Bernard when discussing “The Santa Clause!” You love Bernard.

    Speaking of “The Santa Clause,” I chuckled at this from Cinematical this morning: “‘The Santa Clause’ took place in 1994 (inspiring an entire generation to not get the title’s pun and begin spelling Santa Claus’ name wrong).”

    I think you guys forgot about a little movie called “Elf.”

    And I know that “Little Women” is not technically a Christmas movie, but it starts with Christmas, and they have another Christmas a year later, and…it’s just perfect. You can’t beat the whole gang singing Deck the Halls accompanied by Beth on her new piano. You just can’t.

    MAJOR props on including Home Alone, A Christmas Story, Love Actually, and While You Were Sleeping. Brilliant.

    I truly love y’all’s lists. Love.

  2. Joey Strawn December 17, 2009 at 12:20 pm #

    I must say, I have been anxiously waiting for this list from you guys for quite some time now. I am a HUGE fan of Christmas movies and have many traditions of my own when it comes to this time of year. My list and reasons are as follows:

    5. How the Grinch Stole Christmas – This is the original cartoon, not the Jim Carey abomination. There is nothing better then well-placed nostalgia. This movie always brings back wonderful memories of being 5 and 6 years old whether I want it to or not.

    4. Elf – I know it might be cheesy, but I love that there has been a modern movie that can be elevated to Christmas Classic status, especially one that uses the line, “You don’t smell like Santa, you smell like beef and cheese.”

    3. A Christmas Story – It is not really Christmas until I watch this fantastic movie. Every line is quotable and every scene a memorable classic.

    2. Christmas Evil – a very little-known movie, but maybe the best worst movie of ALL TIME. That might be a lofty claim, but watch it and you shall see. The twist/surprise ending could take on a life of it’s own and punch M. Night Shamalamadingdong in the face for his weak attempts at surprise endings.

    1. Christmas Vacation – Not only is this still one of the funniest movies ever made, it brings back some of my favorite memories ever. Memories of getting together at Christmas with 6 or 7 of my best friends for our annual Christmas party and watching it right before we forced our Korean friend to dress up like Santa and recite Twas The Night Before Christmas in front of a fire; and stealing things from the host’s home to give each other as secret Santa gifts (I still have a I [Heart] My Cadet teddy bear someone took from Walgreens one year for their gift to me, good times, good times).

  3. Nicolas Acosta December 17, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    “We all kind of feel like we had a childhood similar to this one after we see this movie. I can’t really explain it. My father never had a lamp that looked like a leg. I never wanted a bee-bee gun. And I had a younger sister, not a younger brother. But somehow, after you’ve watched this film, the events become a part of your childhood. You remember them like you remember your own past. That’s truly movie magic right there.”

    For so long, I’ve been hearing people obsess about A Christmas Story, and the clips of it that I’d seen just seemed annoying, and I never had any reason to want to watch. But your description right there, I think, captures better than any I’ve heard why everyone loves that movie so much. You’re right, that is part of what makes movies magic.

Leave a Reply

