The Doctor Who Experience: Prologue

12 Jan

I have always been fascinated by Doctor Who.  Really, I’ve always been fascinated by the many things that make up Doctor Who.  I love Science Fiction.  I love bizarre cult television.  I love almost everything from England.  When you mix all this together you have Doctor Who.  So despite the fact that I had never actually seen a single episode, I had decided that I liked this long running science fiction phenomenon several years ago.

Along comes November of 2009 and I am in a grocery store waiting on my wife to decide what Kashi cereal she wants, and I pick up the latest issue of Wired.  Inside, I see a small article by Scott Brown on why he, an American, loves Doctor Who.  Intrigued, I read on.  Mr. Brown makes a strong case.  All the evidence he presents supporting his love of this British institution are things I had imagined loving whenever I finally got around to watching it.  Mr. Brown finally broken through my apathetic laziness and convinced me to start down the long road of Doctor Who fandom.

For those of you who don’t know, Doctor Who is an extremely long running British science fiction television show.  It originally ran from 1963 to 1989, and it started up again in 2005.  If you’re wondering how a show about the adventures of one man could possibly run that long, let me explain.  The Doctor is a member of an alien race known as the Time Lords.  They can, and do, travel through space and time and help people.  They can also regenerate their bodies when they are mortally wounded, but the new body will look totally different and have a different personality.  Thus, the Doctor has been played by eleven different men to date.

The eleven different versions of Doctor Who.

Jumping into something like that is a little overwhelming.  Do I start with the new episodes?  Or do I go back to when they rebooted the series in 2005?  Or do I start at the very beginning?  This is the question that has kept me from beginning this journey all along.  Throw in the fact that the DVDs are crazy expensive and rental stores have a very limited selection and I’m left with fewer choices than I would like.

Ultimately, I have decided to begin with the Doctor I have seen in another BBC production.  The fourth incarnation of the Doctor was played by Tom Baker.  If you love the same things we do here at Lara and the Reel Boy, you will recognize Tom Baker as Puddleglum in the BBC production of The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair.  I loved him as a child, and I’ve decided that’s the best place to start.

The Fourth Doctor

This is my invitation to you readers to come along with me as I embark on this mad journey through time and space.  You’re going to be hearing about the good Doctor’s adventures anyway, you might as well watch them yourself.  The first report is going to be on the “Key of Time” episodes from the Tom Baker years.  Feel free to jump on in.  If you need some extra encouragement, go read Scott Brown’s article HERE.

very excited about Daleks, Black Guardians, and aliens made out of bubble-wrap,

david

3 Responses to “The Doctor Who Experience: Prologue”

  1. CintusSuprimus January 13, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    As much as I love Tom Baker (herpes, et all) I’m kind of intrigued by the sixth Doctor — he looks like a Will Ferrell/Riddler/Oompa Loompa combo. And I love that.

  2. Silence December 18, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    Which Doctor does that logo belong to?

    • iamhrothgar December 19, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      I’m pretty sure that was from the Tom Baker era. I could be wrong, but I think that was what they had on the novels and magazines around that time.

Leave a Reply

