Top Five Movie Homes We Want To Live In

18 Jan

Have you ever walked into the house or apartment of a friend and thought, “Wow, this is so well put together. I would love to live here with all the feng shui and whatnot.” Well, here at Lara and the Reel Boy we have had a similar experience, except instead of with “real people” we covet the homes of movie people. Which brings us to the latest list: Top Five Movie Homes We Want to Live In. It’s been really fun asking people about what their list would be, because they usually stick with the same type of home. For instance, one of my friends said only huge houses (Pemberly from Pride and Prejudice, the Von Trapp home from The Sound of Music, Cher’s mansion from Clueless), my sister had an entire list of French apartments (from Amelie, Ratatouille, Two Days in Paris, etc.), another friend had tree-houses (from places such as Endor and Lothlórien), and I found that my list was almost entirely made up of loft apartments. However, I have tried to cut back, excluding gems from In America and Man of the House just to keep you folks out there happy and guessing. So here we go:

Top Five Movie Homes We Want to Live In

(It should be noted that a few of these have links to VIDEOS).

Lara’s List

5.   Josh Baskin’s “Grown Up” apartment in Big

The Not-Yet Furnished Apartment from Big

I realize I just introduced this list saying I would steer clear of loft apartments but I can’t help but keep two that will serve as the bread to this lists metaphorical sandwich. How can I not covet Josh’s place? It’s a loft, it’s in New York, and it’s abounding with toys. In it is a pinball machine, a basketball hoop, a trampoline, a bunk bed, heck, even a Pepsi machine! Talk about being chock-full of items that only a pre-teen boy or Lara Morgan might actually fill their home with.

4.    The Spice Bus from Spice World

The Spice Bus

In the way of Mary Poppins’ purse, there seems to be a lot more inside the Spice Bus than one might expect could actually fit; five individual stilted beds, five miniature rooms personalized to fit five stereotypes, and five absolutely crazy girls. That’s a lot of fives. That makes twenty. And while I don’t know what twenty signifies and I’m getting slightly confused by my own writing, I would mostly like to express how much I’d love to live in the Spice Bus with four best friends; stealing each other’s clothes and reading star signs while traveling around Britain. (P.S. My section would have a swing and a Playstation 3).

3.   “Via Margutta 51,” Joe Bradley’s apartment in Roman Holiday

"Is this the elevator?"

There’s nothing especially luxurious or groovy about this apartment. In fact, it’s so modest that Princess Ann (Audrey Hepburn) mistakes it for an elevator. What I love about it, though, is the coziness and the location. It is a realistically fitting apartment for a poor journalist in the beautiful city of Rome. I would be elated to live in it. Especially if Gregory Peck stuck around.

2.   The Belafonte from The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou

The Belafonte

A ship containing a sauna, film equipment, two porpoises, a library, and adventurers. I would sleep in the observation bubble.

1.   The Thermapolis Apartment from The Princess Diaries

Firehouse Funhouse

I admit that this movie certainly constitutes as a guilty pleasure, but I feel no guilt for wanting to hang my hat in this apartment more than any other movie home. In it is a tower for climbing up, a pole for sliding down, and a plethora of art for discussing in a pretentious manner. Oh and did I mention that it’s an old firehouse turned loft apartment in San Francisco? Talk about dream life.

David’s List
5. The Row House from Moonstruck

Cher has been here.

This is a fairly simple house. Nothing outrageous here. But there’s just something about it that grabs my attention. I’ve always loved this style of house, whether here or in The Cosby Show, and this is a prime example of what I love about them. Multiple floors, but still rather compact. Modern, but still with an old feel too it. And it’s in a fantastic location.

4. The Addams’s Mansion from The Addams Family and The Addams Family Values

Be Afraid

I would definitely do some work on this place before I moved in, but I love the basics of the place. There would have to be a thorough cleaning to get all the cobwebs and dead things out. And I would have to search the house with a large group of people for all the terrifying things that I know are there. But it would all be worth it. This place looks awesome. And it has crazy catacombs with a treasure vault hidden in the basement.

3. The Tree House from Swiss Family Robinson

Ultimate Treehouse

I’ve wanted to live here since I was kid. It has everything a kid could possibly want. And I think it probably has everything I could want too. And talk about location. A remote island where you don’t have to worry about war, politics, or anything else in the news? That sounds good to me. I would much rather play in my tree and swim in the local swimming hole.

2. Rivendell from The Lord of the Rings

Frodo, you lucky dog.

Now if this list was actually going by location and not by house, this would probably be number one. Middle Earth would definitely beat out New York City. But this time we’re actually concentrating on the house. And this would actually be number one probably half the time if I was asked, but today it’s number two. It is so awesome. I’ve always wanted to have waterfalls and statues of Elvish warriors throughout my house. And if I learned to read Sindarin then I would probably have the best library ever.

1. The Tenenbaum House from The Royal Tenenbaums

The Home of the Illustrious Tenenbaums

I think this is the perfect house. I’ve always wanted a house with more than two floors, a library, an accessible roof, a tower on the side of the house, and a huge staircase leading to the front door. That basically means I need the Tenenbaum House or the Beast’s Mansion from Beauty and the Beast. I’ve decided that the Tenenbaum House is more my size though. I think this is the perfect house.

3 Responses to “Top Five Movie Homes We Want To Live In”

  1. breadtobeeaten January 19, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    Oooh… I would love to live in Rivendell, the Adamms Family house, or the Swiss Family Robinson’s tree house (no other fictional home has held my imagination for so long… I actually have a deep seeded dream to live there…hmmm….)

    I would add to my list The Neverland tree houses in Hook, and the train in Darjeeling Limited. (Wes Anderson should do real estate.)

    Some homes I would not live in (even though it seems SOMEBODY does):

    5. Cuzcotopia (don’t want to be a llama…)
    4. The Quoyle Family Home in The Shipping News (cold and desolate)
    3. 34 Bisgrove Street from the House of Sand and Fog
    2. The Little House on the Prairie (it’s so much to do with time period here…)
    1. The White House in Independence Day.

    • CintusSuprimus January 19, 2010 at 11:32 am #

      Beautiful. I love your non-living homes. Maybe we should do that next.
      I can’t believe I forgot the houses from Hook. I am a major failure.

  2. tressie January 19, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    1. Hogwarts from HP
    2. The Weasley House from HP
    3. Tara from Gone With the WInd
    4. The Beasts’ mansion from Beauty & The Beast
    5. The Home Alone house

Leave a Reply

