Avatar: The Last Airbender Trailer!

4 Feb

 

Today the first TV spot for M. Night Shyamalan’s Avatar: The Last Airbender, which was supposed to premier this Sunday at the Superbowl, was prematurely released on this, the wonderful internet. And since the existence of this film is very exciting to anime nerds everywhere we figured you’d probably want to hear about it. Because you are likely nerds like us.

Aang from The Last Airbender

Now, I must admit, I have never seen the show that the movie is based on because it has only been out in the last few years during which I have had no cable television and I am usually too busy Huluing episodes of 30 Rock and Arthur to pay attention to anything else. Still, I am eager for this film’s release because

A) I know that fellow geeks are. Solidarity!

B) M. Night Shyamalan is writing/directing it.*

C) It looks awesome.

*I am a little wary of Night’s first step into franchise films. I’ve always appreciated his complete originality, which sometimes even risks his viewer’s interest. Hopefully this won’t keep him from making his own stories in the future.

Basically it is a Nickelodeon show about people who can manipulate elements and do mind-blowing martial arts. And Paramount Pictures has decided it would be a good idea to give M. Night Shyamalan a ton of money and make it into a trilogy. That’s good enough for me.

They called me Mr. Airbender,

Lara

Leave a Reply

