David and Lara’s Thoughts on Awards at the Academy Awards

10 Mar

Lara and I have some very strong opinions on the results of the Academy Awards.  On some of them.  On others we really didn’t have much on an opinion at all.  Anyway, if you would like to read what we thought about them, here’s your chance.  It’s long and not in any particular order.  But it is all here.  I think.
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds

Lara:  Christoph!! “That’s an über bingo,” as he said during his acceptance speech. This was possibly the happiest I was all evening (so the rest of it was downhill, you could say), because Christoph was brilliant as Colonel Landa; from his creepy calm to his terrified screams, be they in French, German, English, or Italian. Not to mention he has a beautiful beard and spent a good amount of his speech worshipping Quentin. My kind of Oscar winner.

David:  I was also thrilled about this.  I had a hard time deciding what I really wanted to win this year.  It was a lot easier to decide what I wanted to lose.  But I knew I wanted Christoph to win, no doubt about it.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Mo’Nique in Precious

Lara:  Just from the clip shown I know she fully deserved this win. Though I wasn’t too pleased with her speech.

David:  What a jerk!  That was the worst speech I’ve ever heard at the Oscars.  She just said that if anyone else had won it would have been a political move.  What?  Seriously?  What an unbelievably arrogant person.  I thought she should have won, but now I wish she hadn’t.

Best Actress: Sandra Bullock in The Blind Side

Lara: Okay. She was good. At least this shows that the Academy can recognize someone for a specific performance, rather than a career. I was perfectly fine being slightly disgruntled that Sandra won over Meryl, Carrie, Helen, and Gabourey. Then she made her speech. It was both moving and hysterical. Damn it, Sandra! You won me over with your Meryl Streep lesbian lover jokes.

David:  I will admit that I was totally pissed when they said her name.  Seriously?  Sandra Bullock?  Come on!  Meryl Streep was nominated!  Meryl Streep!  And then Sandra Bullock gave her speech, and it was totally awesome.  Best speech of the night (besides Michael Giacchino).  I almost forgot how pissed I was.

Best Actor: Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart

Lara:  He has such a history of incredible roles and, as I’ve heard from others, the performance at hand was no exception. I love that even in his speech giving, Jeff Bridges is The Dude.

David:  Yes.  This is exactly what needed to happen.  Jeff Bridges is always amazing, and this role and this film was no exception.

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker

Lara:  Huzzah! A woman director! That was, indeed, the focus of Bigelow’s win. I wish that they hadn’t played up the Woman Director thing so much- it was uncomfortable every time someone said, “Could it be the first female director? The first African-American director? Or one of the three white males?” Okay, they didn’t say the last thing, but they may as well have. I thought the direction WAS really great in this film and I AM happy that a female director like Kathryn Bigelow won and she didn’t really play up the gender card during her speech. Mostly I’m so glad Sofia Coppola wasn’t the first woman to win Best Director. Thank you, Academy and thank you, God.

David:  I haven’t seen this movie, but now I want to.

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker

Lara: I’ve gotta say, even though I enjoy Avatar more than The Hurt Locker, I am glad that this one won. I mean, as I said before I’d rather have had District 9, Inglourious Basterds or Moon (oh wait, it wasn’t nominated) win, but as none of those were the two being discussed as possible winners I was contented with the results. The Hurt Locker was a fine movie. Plus I haven’t really been happy with the Best Picture winner in a while and have gotten quite used to my favorites being overlooked.

David: This is good.  I think.  As I said, I haven’t actually seen The Hurt Locker yet.  But now I really want to.

Best Foreign Language Film: The Secret in Their Eyes (El Secreto de Sus Ojos)

Lara:  Unfortunately, I didn’t see any of the nominees for this category this year and I hadn’t heard anything about this Argentinean film, but I loved the director, Juan José Campanella’s speech: “It is on behalf of a crew and cast that compromise mostly of people that I love and that are very close to my heart that I want to thank the Academy for not considering Na’vi a foreign language.”

David:  Seriously, that was the best joke of the whole evening.  And NO ONE laughed.  You could hear a pen drop in there.  Poor guy.  In years to come, people will remember.  Maybe.  Lara and I will.

Best Documentary Short:  Music by Prudence

David:  I don’t know anything about this movie, but the speech was awkward.  It seemed like the two people up there hated eachother.

Best Animated Short:  Logorama

David:  Haven’t seen it.  Bu it looks awesome.

Best Live Action Short:  The New Tenants

David:  This was one of the best decisions of the whole night.  Thank you Academy for not just giving to the short film that was the most depressing.  Or made the best point about a social injustice.  The New Tenants is fantastic.  I love it.  I was so excited when this won.

Best Original Score: Michael Giacchino for Up

Lara:  Awesome. From the man who composed the music for Star Trek, Ratatouille, and even the bizarre noises found on Lost and the Disneyland ride Space Mountain. This was a great score accompanied by a wonderful speech, in which Giacchino encouraged children to be creative.

David:  Best speech of the night.  Hands down.  I was little torn on the award though.  I loved Hans Zimmer’s score for Sherlock Holmes.  I thought it was fantastic.  But Up’s was good too.

Best Visual Effects: Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones for Avatar

Lara:  Good. They made a whole new technology; they had better win a freaking Oscar for it. I dug when Letteri said, “Just remember the world we live in is just as amazing as the one we created for you.” Well done, sir. Maybe that will get people off of the Avatar help-line.

David:  Great speech.  And very well deserved.  If they hadn’t won it would have been like Tron being disqualified from visual effects because they used computers.  Thank goodness we’re recognizing the importance of new technology now.

Best Cinematography: Mauro Fiore for Avatar

Lara: He filmed with a whole new technology, he had better win a freaking Oscar for it.

David:  I was torn on this.  Yes, he did a great job, but it’s weird comparing cinematography where you’re considering REAL light, REAL environment, REAL shadows, and cinematography where you’re considering a bunch of pixels.  I realize they both require skill.  Lots of skill.  But I feel weird comparing them.

Best Film Editing: Bob Murawski and Chris Innis for The Hurt Locker

Lara:  The editing in this film was brilliantly executed. Justly won.

Sound Mixing/Sound Editing: Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett for The Hurt Locker

Lara:  Thank you for making sure Transformers got no awards. The sound was great. And once it started getting all of these wins I put down a definitive check mark next to The Hurt Locker for Best Picture.

David:  I don’t know what the sound was like in The Hurt Locker, but thank goodness it was better than Transformers.

Best Makeup: Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow for Star Trek

Lara: Way to go, Vulcan Creators.

David:  I’m just glad this won something.  It was such an awesome movie.

Best Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg for Avatar.

Lara:  I can get behind that- they created a whole new, beautiful world and people.

David:  I agree with my esteemed fellow commentator.

Best Costume Design: Sandy Powell for The Young Victoria

Lara:  Saw this one coming. Victorian clothing- check – it’s going to win. And though I may have rolled my eyes when they announced the winner, I was put in check by Powell who said, “I’d like to dedicate this one to the costume designers that don’t do movies about dead monarchs or glittery musicals. The designers that do the contemporary films and the low-budget ones actually don’t get as recognized as they should do, and they work as hard.” Touché, Powell. And take that, Academy.

David:  Amen.  It’s criminal that The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus didn’t win this category.  Criminal.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Geoffrey Fletcher for Precious

Lara:  I realize I haven’t seen this film, but, man, the screenplay for Up in the Air was so perfect it’s hard to believe that any other film could beat it.

Best Original Screenplay: Mark Boal for The Hurt Locker

Lara:  Here’s where I have a problem. While this film had many great aspects, the screenplay wasn’t its strongest suit. Not only that, but the suits by Quentin, Joel & Ethan, and Bob & Peter were so much better. Once again we have an illustration of the insistence of the Academy members to give the Best Picture winner an award in almost every category it is nominated for. I wouldn’t find this so aggravating if the other nominees were much more worthy of the prize.

Original Song: “The Weary Kind” by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett for Crazy Heart

Lara:  Cool. Wish we could have heard the songs performed.

David:  YES.  I LOVE THIS SONG.

Animated Feature Film: Pete Docter for Up

Lara:  Yay! And, not really a question, seeing as it was nominated for Best Picture. While I loved all of the other nominees this year (and the interviews with characters before the winner was announced), I was very happy to see this wonderful Pixar addition by Pete Docter (who was sadly snubbed for Monsters, Inc. by the overrated horror that is Shrek) win the Oscar.

David:  So well deserved.  What a completely wonderful movie.  And what a great director.  His speech just made me want to go home and watch the special features on Up all over again.

Best Documentary Feature:  The Cove

David:  I haven’t seen this, but I’ve wanted to for so long now.  Now I really want to.  This documentary actually changed something.  When they went back the next year, it was all gone.  YAY!

3 Responses to “David and Lara’s Thoughts on Awards at the Academy Awards”

  1. Charlie Bucket March 11, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    wow. that was like play by play. and since I decided not to watch it, I’m happy you both did!

  2. Val March 23, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    I don’t think Mo’nique was being arrogant, or trying to slight the other nominees. The background on what she said was that there was a huge stink over her not doing a ton of press for the movie, and for not attending every interview or luncheon or whatever because she decided to stay home with her family instead. A lot of people said she should be campaigning for the Oscar, and if she didn’t put her face out there people would forget about her and her performance. So I think all she was saying was that they honored her performance and not whether she played the Oscar game or not. Oscar “politics.”

    • CintusSuprimus March 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

      Wow– thanks for informing us of that. I really hadn’t heard anything about that, and now it makes a lot more sense- Thanks Utie baby.

Leave a Reply

