Facial Hair Friday, Week 33

9 Apr

PRELUDE:

Last week marked the first ever time that we did not post a Facial Hair Friday since its August origin. It was awful of us, I know, but just give me a chance to explain. I was in Austin for a good amount of last week, and on my last morning (Friday) before I left for Abilene, Texas, I wrote a FHF on David’s computer. However, David’s computer has been acting awfully wonky lately and he’s been having to send me his posts via email for me to post. But I didn’t have my computer in Austin. So I wrote one in hopes that I would later be able to get to a computer and post it. I had no such luck. I was technologoless and David’s laptop was being stubborn. Thus: no Facial Hair Friday. However! Now I have been reunited with my beautiful Levar and am ready to lazily post the one that I had originally written for last week. It contains some apologies and explanations, as well, and it also takes place in the past. I hope you don’t mind.

The last couple of weeks have been very busy for both Lara and the Reel Boy. I have been in the process of moving from California to Austin, which entailed several hours of packing, being on the road, and doing settling in things. David has been working a new job and with that comes new bizarro hours (all night long!) Because of these things we have been Quite Preoccupied. And I know I will continue to be preoccupied for the next couple of weeks as I’m having a Eurotrip (think not of the awful American Pieesque film, please) and may not be able to have as much internet/film access. Yet despite our busy-ness, both David and I managed to read a wonderful graphic novel this week. Which brings us to today’s Facial Hair Friday.

Nicolas Cage! With a mustache! From the movie Kick-Ass! Based on the graphic novel of the same name by Mark Millar and illustrated by John Romita, Jr.! I didn’t really think it was possible to get more enthusiastic about this film, but by reading the graphic novel I am just that. I am even more ready for extreme violence and pop-culture references than I ever thought possible. And I know there are lots of Nic Cage haters out there, but let me tell you they are Wrong. Look at him at his finest: Moonstruck, Adaptation., Matchstick Men, The Weather Man… I could keep going. Then look at him at his worst: National Treasure 2, Face/Off, Bangkok Dangerous… I could keep going. BUT! Even at his worst he is so exquisitely campy that his performance becomes something extraordinary to behold. So whether he has some stellar acting or hams it up in Kick-Ass he is surely going to be amazing to watch. Oh, and he’s going shoot a twelve-year-old girl in the chest.

hoping that the Germany release date is the same as the American one,

Lara

3 Responses to “Facial Hair Friday, Week 33”

  1. Susan April 9, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Re: campy Nic Cage. You forgot Ghost Rider! And The Wicker Man! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e6i2WRreARo) And the upcoming Season of the Witch, in which he plays a 14th-century crusader in charge of sacrificing witches to end the Black Plague? Pure gold!

    • CintusSuprimus April 11, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      I am going to watch ALL OF THESE.

  2. Jessa April 10, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Face/Off is perfect. That is all.

Leave a Reply

