Tripp Page’s Trial By Netflix, Week 1 List

21 Jun

We’ve decided to add a new weekly feature here at Lara and the Reel Boy.  This will be the first regular feature we have that is written by someone other than Lara or David.  This will be written, as the title suggests, by Mr. Tripp Page.  This will basically be your chance to find out about new movies available on Netflix, and to make Tripp watch truly terrible things.  But enough of this, I’ll let him explain it to you.

Greetings fans of life!  My name is Tripp and I am about to start a new column here at Lara and the Reel Boy which will surely project my eyes on to many wicked and evil things.  I am sure all of you reading this are aware of a little site called Netflix.  If you are not aware, GET OFF MAI INTERNET.  No I am just kidding, you can stay…but in the corner.  Not too long ago, Netflix had a great idea, which has ended my ability to be productive.  They added Instant View.  Instead of waiting until the end of time for your next DVD to be sent off to you, you can watch any movie that is available with instant view, get this, instantly on your computer, xbox, phone, ps3, random new mobile device, toaster, beagle, etc.  While many great things have come from this, like watching all three seasons of Avatar: The Last Airbender in two days, many terrible and awful things have also come about, such as all of those movies that sit there and mock you with how atrocious they are.

You see internetians, I want to save you from my fate of mistakenly watching those sickening films.  Each week, unless my crime fighting gets in the way, there will be a post letting you guys know of the new movies released on Netflix’s instant view service.  I am afraid to say this next part, but, which ever of those movies gets the most votes, will be reviewed for that week.  If there is a tie, I am going to pick the movie which is least likely to not make me wish to find you and kill you (hearts <3!).  Lets get started eh?

Last Week’s New Movies:

Bicentennial Man

Law Abiding Citizen

Sweet Home Alabama

Serious Moonlight

Ong Bak 2: The Beginning (or How I learned to fight with Elephants)

Jo Koy: Don’t Make Him Angry

Harvie Krumpet

Red Cliff: Theatrical Version (as opposed to my version which is about a big red dog)

180 South

Not Forgotten

Run! Bitch Run!

The Cure

Rudy (P-O-T-A-T-O-S)

Michael Jackson’s This is It

The Opposite of Sex

The House of the Devil

Bright Star

Now and Then

The Stepfather

Bachelor Party

The Sandlot 2 (MY CHILDHOOD YOU BASTARDS)

Toe to Toe

Die Hard 2: Die Harder

They Call Me Sirr

Born on the Fourth of July

The Velveteen Rabbit

Table for Three

The Legend of 1900

Wake

According to Greta

And Then Came Lola

Brian Regan: The Epitome of Hyperbole

Bright Star

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

There we have it folks. If you want to know what these movies are about, head over to imdb.com.  Or you can vote with your gut, like a man.

-Tripp Page

So, everybody get it?  Every Monday there will be a list of the movies that came out the week before on Netflix’s instant view.  Good for everyone that has Netflix.  Also, starting next week, there will be a review of the movie from this week that receives the most votes.  So, let’s all get together and make him watch something terrible, yeah?  Vote in the comments.

16 Responses to “Tripp Page’s Trial By Netflix, Week 1 List”

  1. iamhrothgar June 21, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    I am starting the voting with They Call Me Sirr. I was torn between that and Run! Bitch Run!, but They Call Me Sirr just looks so bad. I need Tripp to tell me how bad.

  2. Breakbot June 21, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    My vote goes to Sandlot 2. Thats gotta be painful to watch.

  3. Val June 21, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Gotta go with “According to Greta.” I mean, GUYS. It stars HILARY DUFF, only the most accomplished (and spunkiest!) young actress working (when she can) today. Plus, according to the film description, her character is “full of sarcasm that barely disguises the hurt inside.” Deep stuff.

  4. Kathryn June 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    The Opposite of Sex! I’m voting with my gut, as I am at work and don’t want to be caught looking at IMDB, but mostly…I want to know what the opposite of sex is.

  5. Nicolas Acosta June 21, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    I second According to Greta. Can’t beat that spunk. Just can’t beat it.

  6. emily June 21, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Velveteen Rabbit please.

  7. CintusSuprimus June 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    They Call Me Sirr!!!

  8. Shane Bridges June 21, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    Run! Bitch Run! Keepin it really, really real.

  9. carly cram June 21, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Bicentennial Man or sweet home alabama. (It feels like i’m wishing harm upon you by making you watch these, shame on me!)

  10. iamhrothgar June 21, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    Now and Then, a coming of age story beloved by all 13 year old girls. I have a sneaking suspicion you would love it Tripp. -Stephanie

  11. Kristin June 21, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Whoa, whoa, whoa, everyone. CLEARLY it should be Serious Moonglight. The plot synopsis: “A high-powered attorney duct tapes her adulterous husband to the toilet … right before their home is invaded by burglars”

    How can that not be awesome?

  12. Desiree June 21, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    I’m gonna go with Kristin on this one: Serious Moonlight!

  13. JEREMYROCKSLOL June 22, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    I was going to vote Sandlot 2, because wishing something so terrible on someone seems pretty fun. But then Kristin posted the synopsis to Serious Moonlight. So… I vote Serious Moonlight

  14. breadtobeeaten June 22, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    I was going to go with According to Greta, but then Kristin flexed her copy-and-paste muscles… and also her ability-to-be-right muscles. I vote Serious Moonlight!

  15. Blake June 22, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    I’m going for Ong Bak 2. Looks amazing… and somewhat terrible.

  16. theinfj June 22, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Velveteen Rabbit. I want you to cry. – Joey

Leave a Reply

