Facial Hair Friday, Week 43

16 Jul

Today’s Facial Hair Friday exists solely because I purchased one of my favorite movies this week and I am very excited about it.  I believe this DVD is actually out of print now.  I saw like 20 copies of it at Half Price Books about 6 months ago, and that usually means that the movie is out of print and the publisher is selling off excess copies.  Like a fool, I thought, “I’m sure this will be around for a while.  There’s no need to get it right now.”  Well, there was.  Within a couple weeks there were no more copies to be found.  Sure, I could have just gone to Amazon.com and bought one for about $10, but that takes all the fun out of it.  Half the experience is looking desperately through stacks of used DVDs for the one movie (or the 37 movies) that you just desperately need to have.

Well, this week that search produced results.  And while I didn’t find the eighteen Godzilla movies that I’m still missing, I did find Flash Gordon, the Saviour of the Universe Edition.  This means not only some of the coolest looking set pieces and costumes since Masters of the Universe, but totally awesome facial hair from Max Von Sydow as Ming the Merciless.

Max Von Sydow, the coolest he's ever looked

Look at that.  His mustache is insane.  So is his goatee.  But those are nothing new to Facial Hair Friday.  No, I want you to look at this man’s eyebrows.  They are magnificent.

And while we’re at it, let’s go ahead and take a look at the other version of Ming.  In 1936, the world was introduced to Ming by Charles Middleton.  He was perfect for going up against the over the top performance by Buster Crabbe as Flash.  And to top it all off, he also had amazing facial hair.  Check it out.

Charles Middleton, as the original Ming

His eyebrows aren’t quite as astounding, but everything else is pretty impressive.  So there you have it, the ultimate in villainous facial hair, Ming the Merciless.  I’m watching this movie this weekend, if anyone wants to join me.

considering a villainous mustache,

david

2 Responses to “Facial Hair Friday, Week 43”

  1. Susan G. July 16, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    Boston sucks. No one owns Flash Gordon.

    • iamhrothgar July 18, 2010 at 12:55 am #

      I’ll watch it with you if you come down here to visit.

Leave a Reply

