Top 5 Horror Movies We Haven’t Seen

13 Oct

Its October, which means its time for all the Halloween themed lists.  We thought that instead of doing a list of the best horror movies there are, we’d do the top horror movies that we feel like we need to see.  So, you could consider this a confession.  You’ll finish reading this list and think, “Man, I can’t believe I was listening to these people’s opinions.  They haven’t even seen ___!”  Well, hopefully you won’t feel quite like that.  Anyway, here they are.  The Top 5 Horror Movies We Haven’t Seen Yet.  Hopefully, we’ll see some of them this month and then you’ll get some reviews for movies we should have seen a really long time ago.

David’s List

5.  The Wicker Man

Yes, there was a 2006 film by this name.  No, that is not the one I’m talking about here.  The one I’m talking about here was made in 1973 and did not star Nicolas Cage.  Instead, we have Edward Woodward as a police investigator who is sent to a small island in Scotland to look for clues about a missing girl that the locals deny ever existed.  Once he arrives, he is shocked to find the entire island practices a strange neo-pagan, slightly Celtic religion with Christopher Lee as their high priest.

I’ve heard of this film for years.  I remember seeing images from it as child.  I’m not sure where I would have seen those, probably a book about film that wasn’t very carefully scrutinized before being put in my hands, but I did.  And I was fascinated.  There was a picture of Christopher Lee standing in front of a giant wooden man that was obviously meant to put people in.  I’ve never been able to forget it.

But I’ve also never actually watched it.  For a while I was too scared, I’ll admit that.  Then, as I grew older, I just never thought about it.  That’s now changing though.  I’m thinking about it, and I’m going to watch it soon.  How can I not when Total Film says that it is the sixth greatest British film of all time.

4.  Lisa and the Devil

Lisa and the Devil is the story of a young woman touring Europe who becomes lost from her group.  She ends up seeking refuge in an old mansion were the butler eerily resembles Satan in one of the mansion’s frescoes.  At this point people start dying from a mysterious killer.

There are a number of reasons I want to see this movie.  First, and foremost, Mario Bava directed it.  I am a fan of Mario Bava.  Whether it’s an early slasher film (Twitch of the Death Nerve) or a sixties spy extravaganza (Danger: Diabolik), this man knew how to make an entertaining film.  His movies are always visually stunning, and this one looks to be no different.

Secondly, we have Telly Savalas as the butler.  And most things with Telly Savalas are good.  I’m just imagining how creepy he was as an imprisoned soldier in The Dirty Dozen.  How much scarier will he be as the Devil himself?

And finally, I’m very intrigued by the story behind this movie.  Until fairly recently, it was impossible to see Lisa and the Devil, as Bava intended for you to see it.  When it was first completed, it was not successful.  To remedy this Bava’s producer, Alfredo Leone, had him recut the movie and shoot quite a bit more footage, so that it could be turned into an Exorcist clone.  Bava was very against this, and when Leone kept pushing for more profanity and sexuality in the possession scenes Bava refused to direct them and eventually left the film all together.  When it was finally released in the United States it was titled The House of Exorcism.  But the original version is now available, it was this version that Bava saw as his masterpiece.

Warning:  There is a very brief flash of nudity in this trailer.  Maybe don’t watch it at work.

3.  Dracula

Now, I’m not talking about just any version of this all too famous story.  No, I want to see the 1958 version.  The Hammer Films productions.  I want to see Christopher Lee as the titular Count Dracula and Peter Cushing as his tireless arch-enemy Dr. Van Helsing.  I mean, how have I not seen this already?  I love the two lead actors, I love the studio that produced the film, and I love British films from this era.

But let’s look at this a little more closely.  While it did change several key elements in the plot, this film actually stayed fairly loyal to the spirit of the original novel.  And that’s a rare thing today, especially when we’re talking vampire adaptations.

In addition, once I watch Dracula, I can keep going and watch the other films in the series.  The Brides of Dracula, Dracula: Prince of Darkness, Dracula Has Risen from the Grave, Taste the Blood of Dracula, Scars of Dracula, Dracula A.D. 1972, The Satanic Rites of Dracula, and The Legend of the 7 Golden Vampires are all waiting to be watched by me.  And I can’t wait.

2.  Creature from the Black Lagoon

Alright, I admit that this film may not look very frightening compared with today’s horror films, or even compared with some of the other movies on this list.  But this is one of the classic monster films.  And I have never seen it.  I love monster movies almost as much as I love movies that take place underwater, and this is both.

Based on a myth that producer William Alland heard about a race of fish men living in the Amazon, the film tells the story of a team of scientists investigating a missing link between fish and men.  The story is equally based on the story of “Beauty and the Beast”, in which a horrifying creature wants to find love, but is prevented from doing so because he is a monster to the outside world.

Add to the fascinating plot the fact that this was one of the first 3D films ever made, and you have my interest piqued.  Although, I confess that I would rather watch it in 2D.

1.  Halloween

How have I never seen this?  I don’t know.  I almost didn’t even put it on the list because of how embarrassing it is to admit.  But we’re nothing if not honest around here, am I right?

Anyway, if Mario Bava invented the slasher film (or at least took it up a notch from where Hitchcock left it with Pyscho), then John Carpenter certainly brought it to America in 1978 with Halloween.  Sure, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was released five years earlier, but did that start a revolution?  No.  There were no more slasher films for five years, when Carpenter did his thing.  From that point on, you have countless imitators, and they all steal something from Carpenter’s masterpiece of horror.

All that to say, even though I am not a huge fan of slasher films (especially the ones that have come out recently), I can still appreciate the film that started it all.   Plus, I love John Carpenter’s films that were made before 1987.  In my humble opinion, he started losing his touch after Big Trouble in Little China.  But in 1978, he was at the top of his game.

Lara’s List

5.  The Poltergeist

Okay, so this is at the bottom of my list for a reason. That reason is that I don’t ACTUALLY want to see this film. I’m kind of repulsed by it and have been since I was a kid and turned on the TV to see the clown doll come to life…. Yeesh…  I’m much more naturally drawn to see plenty of others in the horror genre above this entry (I had to cut off Little Shop of Horrors, Scanners, and several other gems)- that is if I was just looking at the film material itself. However, it is the brainchild of Steven Spielberg, whom I want to be my baby-daddy, so basically it is my child. In an appearance on Inside the Actor’s Studio, Steven said he originally had intended to only make The Poltergeist, but then decided to create a contrasting film to be released at the exact same time: E.T. The wonderful tale of Elliot and his alien is for us to reminisce about childhood fantasies and The Poltergeist brings back our childhood nightmares. While I like fantasies far more than nightmares, if it weren’t for this particular horror story my very favorite film wouldn’t exist. And for that, I kind of not really want to see The Poltergeist.

4.  The Final Destination

Two years ago I attempted to watch a scary movie every night of October. This was when I lived in a small town in New Mexico, where the redboxes almost had more of a selection than the actual rental stores and I didn’t have enough money for Netflix.  Needless to say, it got old pretty fast. Still, despite my trials and the lack of any movies older than 1988, I stuck it out, because I’m Lara Morgan, damn it, and through it I came to love a series I never previously thought I would watch: the Final Destination movies. I mean, how could anyone not love them? They have excesses of gore that come from the most outlandish situations– although there have been several times that I’ve almost been decapitated by a mascot’s sword during my work-out at the gym. The best part is that just when you think it can’t get more ridiculous, it does! Every entry makes the last look like History Channel material, so you can imagine the anticipation I have to watch the latest in the saga.

3.  Piranha

Ever since Piranha 3-D I’ve been craving the original. I want to see ravenous fish in their finest, campiest form, even if it is only in two dimensions. When I IMDB’d the film I became all the more entranced because I found out it was produced by Roger Corman, directed by Joe Dante, and didn’t have Jerry O’Connell in it. All major pluses.

2.  Carrie

Uh, yeah. I’ve never seen Carrie. There’s not really a need for me to explain the need to see this one.

1.  The Fly (1958)

Such a lovely and disgusting story. I have seen a couple of this film’s duplications (the 1986 version, The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror) and find them to be perfectly repulsive. The concept is so simple: a scientist turns himself into a fly, and yet what seeps out of every orifice is brilliant goo. Maybe that analogy was a bit of a stretch… mind grapes… I’m losing my train of thought… Oh right! The Fly! I love The Fly, and though I know no actor can ever top a performance by Jeff Goldblum, I imagine that Vincent Price can get pretty damn close. And his fly would have a mustache…Entomalogical Facial Hair Friday anyone?

6 Responses to “Top 5 Horror Movies We Haven’t Seen”

  1. Louisa October 13, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Even scarier than Poltergeist…the E! True Hollywood Story of the making of the film.

    • CintusSuprimus October 15, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      Oh geez, that’s what I’ve heard. Only thing scarier than a clown doll coming to life: unexplained deaths of child stars…

  2. carly cram October 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Rosemary’s Baby!!!

    • CintusSuprimus October 15, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      I’m watching it tonight!

  3. RM November 10, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Oddly, I was watching another take on the Wicker Man tonight, but had seen it before, so zoned out after the first segment. An episode of a police drama I enjoy called “Wycliffe,” with Cornish ocean views in every episode.

    Wycliffe(Drama)
    ITV3Channel not right? Thursday, November 11th, 2010
    [add an image]
    4 star rating
    The Scapegoat. Series 1, episode 3
    Detective drama series. In a bizarre ritual held each year in a Cornish village, an effigy is thrown from the cliffs into the sea. But was this year’s sacrifice a straw man or the body of a local undertaker? Wycliffe and his team need all their ingenuity and bravery to solve the mystery.

  4. RM November 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    Wow, Laka, “Entomalogical” Facial Hair? Nice of you to memorialize one of my first summer jobs.

Leave a Reply

