Fantastic Fest Spotlight: Knuckle

15 Sep

Today, I’m looking at one of the films I am most excited about seeing at the festival.  Who doesn’t love documentaries about Irish transients that settle  feuds with bare-knuckle boxing matches?  That is the description of the documentary that I have been waiting my entire life for.  Luckily, Ian Palmer decided to make it, and I will be seeing Knuckle this next week.

Knuckle is the story of families made up of Irish Travelers.  They move from town to town looking for work and a place to hang their hat.  But despite the many similarities, two of these families passionately hate each other.  And have hated each other for a long time.  And for the last several years Director Ian Palmer followed both families documenting their hate, their way of life, and their brutal fights.

I love documentaries.  And I love documentaries about people that live on the fringes of society even more.  I’m very excited about this one.  Just watch this trailer:

Leave a Reply

