Top 5 Most Mouthwatering Movie Meals

8 Oct

This was a really fun Top 5 List to make.  It took a while to think of everything, and it took even longer to find video clips of everything (some of them suck), but it was totally worth it.  I think you will all enjoy how hungry these make you.  That’s right, this week’s Top 5 List is the Most Mouthwatering Movie Meal.  How awesome is that?  Read on to find out what we picked.

Lara’s List

5. Créme brulée, from Amélie.

I’ve never had créme brulée. In fact, I don’t really even know what it is. But when Amélie takes her spoon and cracks the surface I totally understand why it is one of her favorite things. And I want to get my hands on some of it, preferably in the Café des 2 Moulins.

4. Steak, from The Matrix.

Even though it’s being eaten by an evil man and is almost disgustingly rare, my mouth can’t help but water at the sight of this steak. Upon eating it, Cypher resolves that he will betray his friends and colleagues. That’s got to be one hell of a steak. Then again it’s got the power of the Matrix behind it, telling me that it looks juicy and delicious…mmm…I think I’ll take the blue pill.*

3. Turkish Delights, from The Lion, the Witch, & the Wardrobe (BBC version).

I guess I must have a thing for corruption inducing meals, for here is another food that turns someone against his friends. Only this time it’s Edmund’s very own brothers and sisters he double-crosses for a treat. You can’t really blame him, though. It’s magical. It is conjured in the snow. It comes in a pretty silver box that opens itself. And it’s candy. I’ve never actually tried Turkish Delights because I know that there’s no way they can deliver on the tastiness I so desire. I’m going to wait until Narnia for my first sample. And I’ll have Aslan conjure them up, none of that White Witch nonsense.

2. Colossal Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pie, from Honey, I Shrunk the Kids.

What? Two lists in a row with Honey, I Shrunk the Kids? Yes. Get used to it. This movie is perfect and, therefore, likely to show up a lot in this feature. Ron, Russ, Amy, and Nick are ravaged after a day of trying to survive in the jungle of their backyard, when they come across it: a mammoth sized cookie. The kids then attack the snack, breaking off giant pieces and slathering frosting on it, speaking to each other completely indistinctly through mouthfuls of sweets. I would watch an entire movie of this scene.

1. Never-Feast, from Hook.

Whether they’re eating food that we can’t see or plates of colorful goo, the Lost Boys make make-believe food look delicious. This is the happiest scene of all time, for it is the moment when Peter Pan gets his imagination back. And that imagination fills his stomach with purples and blues and reds. I’m lucky enough to say that I got to live this scene for my 19th birthday. Surrounded by friends and food I felt like I was the Pan.

*Rather than eat the steak with wine, as Cypher does, I would compliment it with the soda from 3 Ninjas. I know it has ex-lax and is used to foil the bad guys, but it just looks so damn fizzy and marvelous.

David’s List

5.  Puerco Pibil, from Once Upon A Time In Mexico

This is the only one on my list that it would actually be possible to eat, at least relatively easily.  One of the special features on the dvd is a ten minute cooking school with director Robert Rodriguez.  HE teaches you how to make it step-by-step.  I did it once and it was good.  But nowhere near good enough to have someone shoot me.

4. Ivan’s Ooze, from Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Movie

I know this is disgusting.  And I know no one eats it in this clip I’ve provided.  But I’ve always secretly wanted to eat it.  I know I would probably turn into a mindless slave to evil, but I might be ok with that.  Tommy the White Ranger would come and save me eventually (Did you know he’s an MMA fighter now?).

3. Melting Chesse Pizza, from All Dogs Go To Heaven

I’ve always wanted pizza like this.  Its not just the cheese that’s melting, its the entire pizza.  That doesn’t happen in real life.  But my gosh, I wish it did.

2. Honey, from The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh

I love honey.  I always have. This is like a fantasy of mine.  Totally surrounded by one of the most delicious things in the world.  It would just suck getting cleaned up afterwords.  But it would be totally worth it.

1.  The Feast, from The Adventures of Robin Hood

First of all, this is the 1938 version of Robin Hood.  I will be talking about in the near future in an Old Time Movies For Our Time People.  Its the best version of Robin Hood.  And one reason why is this feast scene.  I have dreamed of going to this feast since I was small child.  I especially want this roasted duck that still has its head and legs that Robin Hood grabs at the beginning of this scene.  Its not actually in this video.  But it’s so delicious looking.  All of the meat in this scene looks amazing.

Please leave us some lists of your own.


7 Responses to “Top 5 Most Mouthwatering Movie Meals”

  1. Daniel Merck October 8, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    After reading the opening paragraph, the first thing that came to my mind was the scene from Hook. Secondly, and most unfortunately, the movie Simply Irresistible featuring Sarah Michelle Gellar, mostly on the fact that i could eat food and feel the emotion the cook was having, and that and eating something that made me float. And Lastly, since I do not have 5, mostly just 3 i can think of, Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory. Who doesn’t want to love in a world of candy? And, who would turn down an opportunity to hang out with Gene Wilder.

    • cintussupremus October 12, 2009 at 12:46 pm #

      Ha! Simply Irresistible! Such a terrible movie, but that floating lobster did look awfully tasty.

  2. Andy October 8, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    I think it’s weird in the Power Rangers clip that the parents’ first impulse, upon opening a jar that says “OOZE” on the front, is first to smell it and then once it’s found to smell horrible, to submerge their fingers in it. Ha! Ha! But then I, too, would probably stick my fingers in something if it smelled like purple lightning.

  3. Susan October 8, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    Oh my gosh, David, I totally know what you mean about the melting pizza from All Dogs Go to Heaven. I always wanted that pizza.

  4. Joey Strawn October 9, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    For some reason I wanted to eat everything in the movie Ratatoullie. But the first thing that came to mind was the food from Hook, I was glad it’s on the list.

  5. Val October 12, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    “But then I, too, would probably stick my fingers in something if it smelled like purple lightning.”

    That is the best sentence I have ever read.

    Lara, I totally know what you mean about the 3 Ninjas soda! It always looks so tasty.

    I would have to add the deleted scene from Two Towers, where Merry and Pippin following the floating apples and floating chicken (turkey?) and end up in Saruman’s giant food room. I want to be there with them.

    ALSO I love in cartoons whenever there was a giant chain of link sausages. I remember one in an old Mickey/Pluto cartoon, and also Oliver and Company. I love those cartoon link sausages.

    Any of the chocolate Vianne makes in Chocolat. Oh my heavens.

    Les’s hot dog he wraps up in Denton’s article in Newsies.

    The Christmas morning breakfast in Little Women! Isn’t butter divinity?

    My favorite meal, though, is from Mickey’s Christmas Carol. When Scrooge wakes up to find the ghost of Christmas present in his house, there is also mounds and mounds of food everywhere. The grapes are gigantic, and Scrooge narrates what everything is in this reverent tone, and best of all– everything is SPARKLING. It doesn’t get much better than that.

    And now I’m starving.

    • cintussupremus October 12, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

      Seriously. I just ate breakfast and now I’m thinking about a second breakfast, thanks to your list. And it’ll be a floating chicken slathered in chocolate and divine butter.

Leave a comment